Trinity College Dublin, Dining Club London
Founded 1810
Re-formed 1894

Home Past Guest SpeakersGovernance - Photo Gallery  - Alma Mater

Past Guest Speakers






 Professor Roy Foster FBA FRHistS FRSL


 Fiona Shaw CBE, actress


* Paul McGuinness, Film Producer & former manager U2




 Hugo MacNeill, former Irish rugby player & Goldman Sachs


 Fiona Dawson, Global President of Mars Food, Drink & Multisales


 Kingsley Aikins, Founder and CEO of The Networking Institute


 Sir Martyn Lewis CBE, broadcaster




 Paul Drechsler CBE, President of the Confederation of British Industry


 Mark Little, Irish Journalist, television presenter, author & ‘social media visionary’


 H.E. Adrian O’Neill, Ambassador of Ireland to the U.K


* Professor Patrick Prendergast FIEI, MRIA, FREng, Provost & President of TCD




 Professor Louise Richardson FRSE, Vice Chancellor of Oxford University


 Lynn Ruane, Irish Senator and political activist


 Professor Jane Ohlmeyer MRIA


 Sir Richard Lambert




 Michael Marsh


 Dr Margaret McMillan OC, Warden of St Antony’s College, Oxford


 Professor John Kelly, Professor of English and Emeritus Research Fellow of St John’s College Oxford


* Lord Puttnam, Kt CBE HonFRSA HonFRPS MRIA, Film Producer & Educator




 Hugo MacNeill, Chairman of the Irish Chapter of The Ireland Funds


 Prof. Frances P. Ruane, Director of the Economic and Social Research Institute in Dublin

 Sir William  Sargent, CEO & Joint Founder of Framestore

 H.E. Daniel Mulhall, Ambassador of Ireland to the U.K




 John Walsh, writer and commentator


  Katharine Whitehorn, journalist, author and broadcaster


* Sir Robert Rogers KCB, Clerk of the House of Commons


 Jeán Barrett, Irish economist and politician




 Michael Bogdanov, international theatre director


 Conor Burns MP


 Willie Walsh (TCD 1992), CEO of International Airlines Group, a merger of British Airways and Iberia


 Charles Lysaght, eminent Dubliner: a lawyer, author and journalist




 Dr Patrick Prendergast (TCD 1987), Provost of Trinity College Dublin


 The Hon Mr Justice Deeny (TCD 1973), High Court judge of the Supreme Court of Judicature in Northern Ireland


* The Hon Desmond Guinness LLD


 Prof Sebastian Balfour (TCD 1964), Emeritus Professor of Contemporary Spanish Studies at the London School of Economics and Political Science




  Lucinda Creighton TD, Minister of State for European Affairs


  Hamish McRae, Associate Editor and principal economic commentator of The Independent


  Prof Robert Winston, Professor of Science and Society & Emeritus Professor of Fertility Studies at Imperial College, London


 Mary Harney TD, Minister for Health & Children, Dáil Éireann




 Roy F Foster (TCD 1971) Carroll Professor of Irish History, Hertford College, Oxford and Ireland’s leading historian


 Sir Thomas Harris CMG KBE Vice Chairman of Standard Chartered Capital Markets Ltd.


* Provost Dr John Hegarty (TCD) and Prof Dermot Kelleher (TCD) Head of TCD School of Medicine


 The Rt. Hon. The Viscountess Bridgeman (Harriet Turton 1964) founder of the Bridgeman Art Library




 Michael Longley, poet, winner of the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry and other prizes


 Dr Ian Paisley MP MLA recent First Minister of N. Ireland and leader of the DUP


 Charlie McCreevy, European Commissioner for Internal Market and Services


 Prof. Lord Ara Darzi KBE surgeon & Minister of Health




 John Fingleton, CE Office of Fair Trading


 Senator Shane Ross, Independent TCD Senator


 * Prof Dermot McAleese, Pro Chancellor TCD


 Robert Fisk, journalist, The Independent




 Frank Miller, Editor of The Irish Times, London edition


 Lord Smith of Clifton, formerly Vice Chancellor University of Ulster


 Jennifer Johnston, writer


 Dr Garret FitzGerald,  former Taoiseach




 Ruth Dudley Edwards, journalist


 Provost John Hegarty, Provost of TCD


* H.E. Daithi O’Ceallaigh, Ambassador of Ireland to the U.K


 Prof Ivana Bacik, Reid Professor of Criminal Law TCD

*These Speakers were guests of the TCD Association London.
The TCD Dining Club and TCD Association take it in turns biannually to host and run their annual ‘Joint Dinner’.